FeaturedOur Projects

Our 11th Installation Ceremony

It was another memorable day on the Calendar of Rotaract Achievers. It was the most awaited and excited occasion, where a new president, along with a new Board of Directors were to be appointed to ‘Reach Beyond’.

The 11th Installation Ceremony of Rotaract Club of Achievers Lanka Business School was held on 29th of August 2020 at Construction Industry Development Authority (CIDA) Auditorium. The young bloods were ready for their duties which they’re assigned to, and were about to officially take over that day!

The compere for the night, Rtr. Vinuri Ramanayake (who is none other than our President’s very own sister), held the proceedings perfectly together from beginning to end. The event was graced by the Chief Guest; President of the Rotary Club of Colombo Midtown, Rtn. Aswan Bangsajayah.

The ceremony commenced with the lighting of the oil lamp by the dignitaries, after which they were invited to take their seats at the head table. Then, Sergeant-at-Arms, Rtr. Niflaz Nuhuman called the house to order and handed over the proceedings by collaring the District Rotaract Representative, Rtr. Kasun Sigera and Outgoing President, Rtr. Sathma Jayasinghe. Rtr. Sathma called the 11th Installation Ceremony of the Rotaract Club of Achievers Lanka Business School, and the event was officially begun!

After the National Anthem, the proceedings were followed by the Rotaract formalities. Rtr. Asel Gunaratne recited the Flag Salutation, Rotaract Invocation and Rotary four-way test. After the Rotaract Song, the welcome address was delivered by the Project Co-chairpersons, Rtr. Mark Nesan and Rtr. Nethmi Lavanya.

Next up, the Secretary’s report was presented by the Secretary for the year 2019-20, Rtr. Thisura Ramanayake. It outlined the remarkable projects Rotaract Achievers had completed during the last year, under the theme “To Avail and to Thrive”. Rtr. Thisura added that he was proud of how the club had performed; the service it had done towards the community, as well as how he saw the club members learn and grow through this journey. He then displayed a video presentation which replayed the beautiful memories created during the year, which was a nostalgic moment for us all.

This was followed by the speech of the outgoing President, where Rtr. Sathma Jayasinghe took the stage to address the audience as the President of the Rotaract Club of Achievers Lanka Business School, for one last time. She started off by saying that the four years she was a part of Rotaract Achievers were some of the best years of her life, and that she could not put into words how grateful she was for this “Magical Journey“. She said that it was her absolute honour to have led this club, and that the memories and satisfaction she gained through this movement would be cherished for a lifetime.

Rtr. Sathma extended her gratitude to the Past Presidents and Past Members of Rotaract Achievers, and wholeheartedly thanked the present members who have given their utmost commitment to continue the legacy, giving an individual shout-out to her Executive Committee and Board of Directors. She also did not forget to appreciate her parents, siblings and friends who have supported her throughout this journey. Rtr. Sathma said she was nothing but proud of her team, and her love towards the club was visible in her face. She wished her best for the incoming team, being certain that the club will only reach greater heights under the leadership of Rtr. Thisura. Rtr. Sathma ended her speech reminding everyone that “You are only as brave as you allow yourself to be”.

Rtr. Sathma then handed over tokens of appreciation to dignitaries who have played a major role during her Presidency. A real surprise was revealed when she also had a token for her very dedicated Secretary (Secretary Slave :P), and incoming President, Rtr. Thisura. Following this, a token of appreciation for Rtr. Sathma was handed over to her by her Board of Directors, and the Board of 2019-20 officially stood together for one last picture.

After this, the best part chanced. It was the introduction of the incoming president, and Rtr. Thisura was surprised to see his schoolmate Ruchira walking up on stage to introduce him. After an exciting reveal of Rtr. Thisura, the most anticipated moment arrived. It was time for a new leader to take up the club to reach its boundary, and to officially hand over the reins. Rtr. Thisura Ramanayake was collared as the 11th President of the Rotaract Club of Achievers Lanka Business School, by outgoing President Rtr. Sathma Jayasinghe.

Rtr. Thisura Ramanayake officially addressed the gathering as the President for the year 2020-21. He then inducted his Board of Officials, giving each one of them a funny and unique introduction.

On the lineup, the District Rotaract Representative, Rtn. Rtr. PP. Kasun Sigera was invited to address the gathering. He spoke about his career in Rotaract and what it has to offer. He admired the club for the work done throughout the past year, and wished a successful year ahead.

Following this, the District Rotaract Chair, Past District Rotaract Representative Rotarian Amjad Yoosuf and Chief guest, Rtn. Aswan Bansajayah shared their words. President Rtr. Thisura presented token of appreciation to the dignitaries.

After this, the floor was open for felicitations. The Rotaractors and well-wishers were lined up. They expressed their Congratulations and wished the club all the success for the upcoming year.

The vote of thanks was delivered by the Secretary of the year 2020-2021, Rtr. Suwithi Karunasekara. Rtr. Thisura Ramanayake terminated the 11th Installation Ceremony of the Rotaract Club of Achievers Lanka Business School for fellowship and refreshments.

A part of the crowd was enjoying the refreshments while mingling with one another, while others were still busy taking pictures. All in all, it was a great and memorable day of Rotaract Achievers, which was made possible despite the Pandemic. The hard work of everyone who made it a success is highly appreciated.


Written by: Rtr. Mark Nesan

Edited by: Rtr. Kalani Siriwardena  


The author RACALBS